Some people believe that watching TV is bad for children, while others claim it has positive effects for children as they grow up. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Controversies surrounding the impacts of watching TV on children’s development have never ceased. Although it is asserted by many people that children could gain several benefits from TV-viewing, I believe the drawbacks of this activity outweigh the advantages it brings to the young.

On the one hand, there are certain reasons why people suppose that watching TV is beneficial to the juniors. The first one is that when sitting in front of TV screens, children will have the opportunities to access a variety of educational programs which enrich their knowledge of the world their living. For example, each series on the Discovery channel provides children with deeper understanding about the natural habitats, flora and fauna, and methods to preserve the ecosystem as well as the Earth. Another worth mentioning justification is that watching TV can be a good way for the young to unwind and, reduce stress from studying in order to minimize the risk of mental issues. A typical case in point is that Cartoon Network animated films include vivid images and lively sound effects which entertain children and give them a relaxed mind after school.

On the other hand, it is understandable why TV-viewing is detrimental to children’s growth. Firstly, many TV programmes and movies contain violent contents or sexual images that are not suitable for children to watch. As a result, long-time exposure to them might distort the child’s mindset and behavior, turning them to violent individuals in the future. In addition, when the juniors spend too much time in front of the green screens, they may lack physical activities. Consequently, they may suffer from a number of health problems including obesity, eye strain, and short-sightedness.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that watching TV is harmful to children despite its potential positive effects on the young’s growth.