Some people believe that wild animals should not be kept in zoos or other man-made environments as there is no longer a need for them in the 21st century. Do you agree or disagree?

This essay totally agrees that zoos are not suitable places for wild animals, because very often such accommodation of the animals is not justified and can lead to negative consequences such as depression and stereotyped behaviors in the creatures.

Nowadays, there are a large number of options for how people may protect animals and their environments. As for zoos, the animals are placed in an artificial environment and have limited space in cages. These conditions interfere with normal existence and may cause nuisance for wild animals that are used to living in freedom. As a result, it is better to keep the creatures in nature reserves, for instance. In these areas, they have conditions familiar and natural to them, so it would be more comfortable for them to live.

Besides, zoos are popular location for visitors, who can make noise and cause discomfort for wild species. In this case, the animals may feel tired and oppressed. A good illustration of this is petting zoos where the animals have to contact many people daily. Researchers demonstrate that they often encounter stereotypy. It is a repetition of the same actions for a long time. Such a phenomenon might lead to chronic stress and low life expectancy.

In conclusion, in the modern world where there are a lot of opportunities to keep wild animals in natural ecosystems, zoos are losing importance and fading into the background. This is because of the many drawbacks of keeping creatures in zoos. So, the animals in the zoos are exposed to stress and a low quality of life.