Some people believe that wild animals should not be kept in zoos or other man-made environments as there is no longer a need for them in the 21st century. Do you agree or disagree?

In the modern world, there is a perception that artificial habitats such as zoos are no longer needed for wildlife conservation. This essay disagrees with this statement because man-made environments contribute substantially to the preservation of endangered species, the treatment of animals, and the increase in their populations.

First of all, zoos provide a safe environment for animals, especially for ones who are injured or in danger of extinction. These species have fewer chances to survive in the wild; therefore, artificial habitats that imitate natural surroundings become a vital opportunity to save such animals. Moreover, many experts, such as veterinarians, work in these organizations and could monitor animal welfare and provide professional aid to heal wounds or diseases. For example, in Siberian zoos, veterinarians are fighting for the lives of Amur tigers who have been severely injured in the wild and can no longer live independently in the natural habitat, and the zoo has become a shelter for these species.

Another positive aspect that zoos can offer is breeding programs. Thanks to the contribution of animal experts, many species in the zoos not only get an opportunity to find a mate, which sometimes might be challenging in the wildlife, but also could produce healthy offspring in the safe conditions without the fear of enemies in the natural world. Furthermore, in man-made conditions, it becomes possible to combine different species to create new ones. A notable example is the liger, a hybrid offspring of a lion and a tiger, which was artificially bred.

In conclusion, man-made environments continue to play a crucial role in animal protection and the maintenance of animal populations.