Some people believe that women should be treated as equal to men when applying for a job with police or the military. Others think women are less suitable for this kind of job. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

According to some people, women should be given equal importance as men for job applications such as police or army, whereas others believe that women are less capable of doing this kind of job. In my opinion, gender should not be a factor while choosing the right candidate, and women possess more abilities as compared to men in any field.

Women should be given opportunities to showcase their talent to join the national defense as compared to men. To begin with, women are actively taking part in swimming, karate, weightlifting, which depicts the competitive nature comparatively. This shows their mental and physical strength, which is of the utmost importance when joining the police or military. For example, a majority of games in the Olympics, such as shooting and wrestling, are played by women and have won medals in the respective field, highly encouraging other women for participation. So that, women should be considered equal to men, even if the job application is for defending country.

However, some people think that women are not capable of carrying out certain jobs due to various reasons. Firstly, people believe that physical strength is vital to become a police officer or join the army, and women are less suitable for the job. For example, while catching a thief, a law enforcement officer needs to run fast to get hold of the burglar. Secondly, few women prefer to stay at home and look after their toddler or family, while some women are intrigued by the office work. So, working as police or in the military should totally depend on the woman herself rather than judging her physical power.

To conclude, while some opinions may vary, I firmly believe that women should be treated equally as compared to men, and jobs to serve the nation should be offered to the suitable candidate irrespective of the gender.