some people believe that younger family members should be legally responsible for supporting older family members when they become physically and mentally and financially unable to look after themselves. To ehat extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely debated whether younger members should be forced to take care of the elderly people who cannot function on their own. I disagree with this notion as it is not a feasible approach for working individuals who lack experience.

On the one hand, proponents of this belief argue that the youth have a moral responsibility to look after their older parents. Senior members have dedicated their entire lives to raise their children or grandchildren with the hope that once they grow up, they will provide emotional and financial support. In other words, children owe this to their parents and the only way to repay their unconditional love is to care for them in times of difficulty. Moreover, elderly people who have been abandoned by their families are not able to perform their daily tasks. They are unable to make food for themselves and some urequire medical attention. If their descendents are not obligated to take care of them, they will lead challenging lives both physically and financially, and in severe senarios they face poverty or homelessness.

On the other hand, implementing such role on all families can be counterproductive. Nowadays, many individuals have full-time jobs or live abroad and it is not possible for them to allocate all their time to elderly care. If this was to become compulsory, they would have to stop working or return to their home country, leaving behind their career and life-long ambitions. This can contribute negatively to their emotional well-being and create financial strains. Although many employed people cannot spend time with their old parents, they still support them financially by paying for their essential needs and medication. Not everyone is capable of looking after the elderly since it can be physically demanding and professional help is needed in some cases. Consequently, some children hire specialized nurses to take care of senior members or house them in elderly centers where they would receive excellent help from experts. However, children would not be able to provide such assistance if they were forced to quit their jobs.

In conclusion, although younger individuals are expected to support older family members, the consequences of legalizing it would be detrimental since it would lead to mental distress and lack of purpose in their lives.