Some people believe that zoos where animals are kept in a man-made environment should no longer exist in the 21st century. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people hold an opinion that zoos should be closed, because it is an artificial environment that is not suitable for animals. I partialy agree with this statement, because there are both: benefits and drawbacks of keeping species in zoos.

Firstly, the main reason why zoo is important and needed is that it provides a safe environment for endangered species. Some animals are in a danger of extinction because of hunting, so zoo solves this problem by keeping these species in a safe place. Also, zoos have a profeccional-run bleeding programs, which help to safe certain species from an extinction. For example, in China there are a lot of zoos especially for pandas, because they cannot survive in the nature by themselves. In this case, zoo is a great place for saving animals.

On the other hand, animals may suffer cruelty at the hand of zoo keepers, staff and visitors. Often, especially in developing countries zoos are used only as a business to entertain people, and the health and comfort of residents of zoo are not taken into account. For example, in zoos in Kazakhstan majority of animals held in enclosures, that are too small for them and they are not fed well, and as a result, unfortunately die because of poor conditions.

In conclusion, there is no need to close zoos, because they are essential for protection of species that are in danger of extinction, instead, conditions in zoos should be checked regularly. In my opinion, it sould be understood that it is a problem of a particular places, but not a problem of an general idea of zoos.