Some people believe universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Both men and women should participate in every discipline. People believe that the number of males and females in each course should be made the same. This essay will argue why achieving the equality is somewhat difficult.

The corporate world nowadays requires the equal involvement of both genders. Taking the same number of men and women could help achieve the goal, as it balances the workforce and gives both genders an equal opportunity. For instance, Shell is hiring more female applicants than males, because it seems the right approach in wake of the necessity, and it enables the company to provide equal employment opportunities without discrimination based on gender, race, and ethnicity. Therefore, the idea of having the same number of students in universities seems the right approach.

On the flip side, achieving exactly an equal number is not quite possible. Sometimes, it is a need, and other times, it is the delicacy of the course. For instance, after the World Wars the male population was decimated significantly, and therefore, women had to play major roles. Similarly, a gynecology department needs to have more females than males, as the nature of the course is more biased towards one gender. So, achieving a balanced population either in universities or the corporate world is not always feasible.

This essay argued that trying to achieve the balance is good, but not pushing it further is even better. In my opinion, educational institutions should try to take the same number of candidates. in the courses, where it is possible to do so.