Some people feel that certain workers like nurses, doctors and teachers are undervalued and should be paid more, especially when other people like film actors or company bosses are paid huge sums of money that are out of proportion to the importance of the work that they do. How far do you agree? What criteria should be used to decide how much people are paid?

There has prevailed the opinion that doctors, teachers, and work of a particular type are underpaid and celebrities, as well as company presidents, are overpaid and get an amount of money disagreeably huge. Here this essay tries to narrate factors that affect the salary of each occupation and states by perspective, being that I completely disagree with that growing belief.

The aspect for which I wholly oppose this theory is that jobs of actors and bosses have to bear enormous stress. Unlike other fields such as teaching or nursing, these kinds of work depend on flexibility and instincts that do not include an exact move toward each problem. Thus, with this consideration of the sudden problems, they do feel much pressure in thinking of the ways to solve them within a split second without guidance for the process that follows. For example, singers are expected to free-style to some extent just to prove their singing ability apart from the ability to follow the tones exactly that they are required to reach. There then exists a set of possible criteria to assess one’s earning. First, every salary should be based on the effect that their jobs make in society.

Thus, if their labor is for the betterment of a large community and enhances their level of living then their remuneration is high. Besides, in the aspect of firms, their revenues would be assessed through the actual amount of money they have succeeded in raising in terms of revenues at the end of the selling products period. Indeed, there are no fixed factors that could establish the scope of one’s income because they are susceptible to the factor of the competencies of workers, which is impossible to measure. To put it in a nutshell, I completely disagree with this notion that some professions are not paid proportionally because the level of stress that each type of profession has is compatible with its income. Second to this, whatever will be done in society and the money volume a business will make shall also be the determining factors in terms of one’s pay.