Some people feel that it is always wrong to keep animals in captivity, for instance in zoos. Other people say that there are benefits for the animals and for humans. Discuss both sides of this debate, and give your personal view. You should give reasons for your answer, and include ideas and examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

It’s often argued that keeping animals in locked spaces, for example zoos, is a wrongful act. While others believe it’s beneficial for us humans as well as for animals. In my opinion, animals should live in their natural habitats freely without any human intrusion.

Having animals living in captivity reduces biodiversity in nature which can lead to an unstable ecosystem. Also, capturing animals against their will and placing them for show insinuates to children that animals are just a pleasantry and not another living creature. Kids will not sympathize with them and start treating them with cruelty. Moreover, animals are just like us humans; when facing great separation from their usual familiarity, they get depressed and anxiously long to go back to their habitats, resulting in numerous escape attempts.

On the other hand, placing animals under close observation in captivity is useful in teaching kids about the various kinds of creatures that exist on land, in the sea, and in the air. It also gives kids an opportunity to connect with nature in their everyday lives. Furthermore, there are numerous species that face extinction in the present day, and by keeping them in places like zoos where they will be cared for and well-bred, it will increase their numbers and ensure the species’ longevity. Additionally, research being done on captive animals is important for the development of new medications and, at the same time, understanding different diseases by performing ethical experiments.

In conclusion, animals generally help us in every aspect of our life, whether in health, education, or research. However, we should remember that animals are living creatures, and to live freely is a right that should not be taken away.