Some people feel that it is always wrong to keep animals in captivity, for instance in zoos. Other people say that there are benefits for the animals and for humans. Discuss both sides of this debate, and give your personal view. You should give reasons for your answer, and include ideas and examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

Some individual believes that captivating endangered animals could help them for protection and reproduction while others think that animals should be left free. In this essay, I will discuss both perspectives and give my opinion.

On the one hand, some members of society think that protecting animals in cages help them to reproduce and prevent them from extinction. For example, Bengal tigers are low in numbers around the world. So, to protect this endangered species it is necessary to held them in cage and mating should be allowed to increase the numbers. Moreover, many wild animals are hunted for fur, horns and claws. These things are expensive and sold for its medicinal and ornamental purposes. Recent study from wildlife of Amazon states that exotic animals are butchered and sold in black markets. So, protecting this species helps to maintain biodiversity and environment. Because extinction of one species can disrupt the food chain pyramid and lead to environmental damage.

On the other hand, many social activists are protesting against animal captivity. Moreover, animals are prone to illness when they are held in cages. Like humans, animals also need affection and care from loved ones. Keeping in cages leads to isolation and aggressive behaviors and ultimately cause physical and mental detoriation in health. Recent studies from Mudhumalai Elephant santuary states that isolated and orphaned elephants are more aggressive that elephants with their parents. So, keeping the animals in cages are morally and ethically wrong. In contrast, pet animals are exception because they are raised in environment with proper protection and care.

In conclusion, animals should not be held in captivation for entertainment purposes like zoo or circus. But they can be held for protecting species or research purposes. In my opinion, I totally disagree in animal captivation but with proper environment like spacious landmass and simulating forest like environment, it can be beneficial to protect the animal species.