Some people have decided to reduce the number of times they fly every year or to stop flying altogether. Do you think the environmental benefits of this development outweigh the disadvantages for individuals and businesses? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

It is claimed that a considerable number of individuals have made a decision to decrease the number of times travelling with aircrafts or opt to not to fly. Although there is a positive effect on the environment due to reducing global warming, I am of the belief that the drawbacks outweigh for people and business because of time consuming travelling and revenues for aviation industries would decrease.

On the one hand, people argue that avoiding flying reduces global warming. The aviation’s carbon emissions contribute a significant amount of greenhouse gases to the atmosphere, as they are heavily running on fossil fuel which causes negative effects. If individuals themselves reduce travelling by airplanes, the pollution causing the environmental issues would dramatically decline, and it would create a better air quality. In China, for instance, researchers have shown that numerous people suffering from respiratory health problems decrease during the Covid-19 pandemic. However, I am convinced that this benefit leads to downside for people and businesses.

On the other hand, individuals would encounter time consuming. They might require longer trip duration and more transfer than before, since land transport could not provide benefits compared to flying, which enormously saves time. As a result, trainees from underdeveloped countries may lose chances of gaining experiences on working at major international cooperation. This also led to negative effects to aviation industries profits. As people avoid flying, it severely impacts airline economies and their revenues. Because of those effects, not only people employed at airline businesses lose their occupation but also the government could lose a large sum of taxes. For example, aviation industries around the globe reduced the number of employees in Covid-19 period because governments decided to ban travelling which resulted in bankruptcy of numerous airline companies. I believe that avoiding flying has negative impact on people and industries which generate less revenues.

In conclusion,although people decide to decrease travelling with airplane or avoiding flying would benefit for environment due to reducing carbon emissions, there are a dramatic downside for people and business because this is time consuming and affect negatively for business as well.