Some people have decided to reduce the number of times they fly every year or to stop flying altogether. Do you think the environmental benefits of this development outweigh the disadvantages for individuals and businesses? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

It is thought by many people that reducing the number of flights taken per year can significantly improve environment by moving everything online. However, in my opinion this development can affect businesses and industries adversely.

With the advancement in the technology, people have switched to an online world. Rather then sending documents in post that will take many weeks, they prefer getting an online contract signed by their employees. For instance, in today’s globalised world, you do not need to roam around with your passport and associated documents now that e-visa exists. This transformation has certainly uplifted the environment by reducing the use of paper and cardboard which in return saves trees from deforestation. In general, it reduces the strain of the manufacturing, processing and recycling of paper. The advantages of this switch to an online territory are certainly undeniable.

At the same time, it’s essential to take into consideration the downsides of these recent changes. The businesses and the industries that once run really well are suffering today due to this transition. For example, many airlines are struggling to manage their budgets and gradually dying out. Furthermore, with the dramatic evolution of the artificial intelligence, the selection of perfect candidate for the company’s role by conducting an online interview to save the individual’s expenses and time is not a very reliable thing to do anymore. The reason being that many softwares now exist that can help you in the formation of answers in fraction of seconds to help you ace the interview. This does not only waste company’s panelist valuable time but also markedly reduces the individual’s capability to do the critical thinking.

In conclusion, reducing the number of flights per year or limiting one’s self from travelling by air completely can have some advantages yet this trend has way too many disadvantages for it to be considered positive.