Some people have decided to reduce the number of times they fly every year or to stop flying altogether. Do you think the environmental benefits of this development outweigh the disadvantages for individuals and businesses? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Some people have made the decision to limit their flight times or avoid flights altogether. Although this development would increase productive hours and reduce overall work output, the reduction of gas emissions into the atmosphere makes it more beneficial and eco-friendly.

On the one hand, planes have been one of the most reliable and swift method of transport for decades. For this reason, many multinational companies rely on it to commute to attend conferences and seminars promptly, ensuring that timely decisions and interventions are made to facilitate the smooth running of firms. Consequently, in an event a top business executive decides not to travel by air or fly althogether , crucial decisions may not be made, ultimately affecting the progress of the venture. Elon Musk, the founder of Tesla, usually flies from States to States within America to supervise the company, without planes, this role may not be achieved, which can affect the company’s output.

On the other hand, less flight time would be vital in reducing air pollution. When in motion, airplanes release carbon monoxide upon combustion of aviation fuel which pollute the atmosphere, posing a great health challenge to individuals. Reduced flights means less toxic emissions, eventually causing a decline in the incidence of respiratory tract infections including cancer, flu among others. Scientistic studies indicate that, emissions from airplanes account for 25% of overall air pollutants. Therefore traveling less by aeroplanes would not only be beneficial to the environment but also reduce public health concerns.

In conclusion, business output may suffer if plane travels lessen. However, reduced carbon emissions and less atmospheric pollution makes the development far more favorable and beneficial.