Some people have decided to reduce the number of times they fly every year or to stop flying altogether. Do you think the environmental benefits of this development outweigh the disadvantages for individuals and businesses? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Despite the economic and logistic advantages that travelling on planes offer, some people have opted to reduce or even to stop completely the number of times they fly yearly in order to diminish the environmental damage. I firmly believe that the benefits that flying can give far outweigh the disadvantages it can bring.

To start things off, it is known fact that planes produce a lot of carbon dioxide emissions, that is one of the principal factors for environmental damage and climate change. However, these emissions from represent only a small fraction from the overall world emissions from factories, and other pollution sources. Moreover, fuel and other fossil sources have become more efficient as a result of the technological and scientific advancements during the last decades.

In the other hand, aviation constitutes one of the main ways for transportation, especially crucial in the increasingly globalized world. The capability of moving people or things long distances in a short time is a big life-changer. Aside from this, economies from most countries are greatly dependant on planes for having access to global commerce. This is even more significant for isolated places or tourist areas, which rely on air transportation to keep afloat their economies.

In conclusion, while carbon dioxide emissions from planes can represent a danger for the environment, they are minimal compared to other emissors like factories, and becoming less of a concern each day thanks to efficiency improvements. Additionally, the benefits it brings are crucial for a increasingly inter-connected world.