Some people have decided to reduce the number of times they fly every year or to stop flying altogether. Do you think the environmental benefits of this development outweigh the disadvantages for individuals and businesses? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Daily flights are causing a significant environmental damage, which made environment supporters revise their thinking regardless traveling with planes, hoping for a reduction to carbon emissions, and reduce governments spendings on airport maintanance. However, avoiding flight travel can lead to a possible overuse of public transportation alternatives, as well as damaging flying companies financally.

These eco-friendly acts can have a significant positive effects on the environment, such as the reduction to CO2 emission, as less people travel through planes, flying companies would reduce the number of flights which lead to consume less energy. Furthermore, This act will significantely decrease governments spendings on airports maintanance, as huge amount of money spent every year on airports. For example, Chinese finance department issued a statement, showing that almost 20 percent of transportation expenses goes to airport maintanance every year, which is a huge number, so this habit would offer a significant support to the government. In the other avoiding travel through planes would alternatively pushes people to use other public transport instead, such as buses and underground, this kind of vehicules also use fuel gas whch can even be worse to the environment. In addition, these people are damaging flying companies which many of them is owned by governments, many flying companies would go bankrupt and may cause economic issues to some countries, especially ones who depend on traveling companies, For example, Qatar Airlines forms a decent part on Qatar’s economy. Boycotting flying firms would effect Qatar’s economy. I believe disadvantages outweigh advantages since protecting the environment needs a whole transition in energy use.

In conclusion. Although this eco-friendly habit contribute on the reduction harmful gases and saves governments lot of money, It lead to alternative transportation overusage as well as harming flying companies financally; this is why i believe disadvantages outweigh advantages.