Some people have decided to reduce the number of times they fly every year or to stop flying altogether. Do you think the environmental benefits of this development outweigh the disadvantages for individuals and businesses? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is true that some individuals tend to reduce the number of times they fly annually or stop flying altogether. However, there can be disagreement as to whether the environmental benefits of this phenomenon preponderate its impacts on society and businesses. I believe that the environmental advantages of the reducing the number of times individuals fly outweigh the disadvantages for communities as it influences natural surroundings positively and fosters more sustainable lifestyles.

To begin with, one of the prominent perquisites is that when people travel by plane less, it can seriously affect the environment. In other words, planes, like all means of transport, use large amounts of fuel in order to fly. As a result, they emit a considerable volume of greenhouse gases into the atmosphere, which causes air pollution and global warming. As a second positive effect it can be shown that this trend can contribute to more eco-friendly lifestyle. To further elaborate, by reducing the air travel frequency, it can encourage people to live in ways that are better for the environment and use more natural resources.

Despite the given opinions about the benefits of declining the amount of air travel people undertake, others tend to believe that it has some notable business drawbacks as well. One of them is that when people lessen the number of their flights, they can lack face-to-face meetings at their work or job. To put it another way, there are various conferences and business gatherings held abroad ,in which individuals are expected to participate in person so as to build professional relationships. However, I believe that this downside is not crucial enough to overshadow the upsides of traveling less, since modern technology allows people to hold virtual meetings through platforms like Zoom or Microsoft Teams, which can be just as productive as in-person discussions.

To conclude, in light of the things mentioned above, I feel convinced that in spite of having some obvious drawbacks to flying less, such as a lack of in-person communication and meetings, its upsides definitely come heavier than downsides, as fewer flights help protect the environment and keep the air cleaner.