Some people prefer to buy local commodities, while other think that world wide products have better qualities.

Nowadays people have differing views on whether to buy local products or purchase worldwide commodities. While buying local merchandise is beneficial in terms of stimulating national economy, sustainability and fostering cultural pride, worldwide products sometimes offer higher quality and, they have brand loyalty. This essay will discuss both perspectives.

On the one hand, purchasing local commodities emphasizes the importance of supporting domestic industries, stimulating national economy. It also creates some job opportunities and decrease unemployment rates within country, which, in turn, boots individuals’ welfare. Additionally, local products are environmentally-sustainable, as they do not require long-distance transportation; however, importing items from abroad might have detrimental impacts on the environment because of emissions released into the air during transport. Moreover, buying local items can foster a sense of cultural pride and identity. For instance, traditional craftsmanship and regional heritage may bring people together, creating a sense of community.

On the other hand, global products often meet higher quality standards because they have an access to advanced technology and have better production methods. Sometimes international companies have stricter quality procedures, which increases the quality of products, thereby attracting more customers. Additionally, worldwide products have stood the test of time due to their consistent performance. Some companies have built strong brand loyalty, which makes individuals more inclined to purchasing these items. Finally, buying international products can help governments build strong connections with other countries. By means of trade, they might get help from other nations during economic downturns.

In conclusion, although purchasing local commodities can boost local economy, promote sustainability and foster cultural identity, global items often have high quality as well as brand loyalty, and they can help countries during economic recessions with strong connections.