Some people regard video games as harmless fun, or even as a useful educaional tool. Others, however, believe that videos games are having an dverse deffet on the people who play them. In your opinion, do the drawbacks of video games outweight the benefits?

The massive influence of video games is apparently a polemical debate. Some people consider digital games a useful learning tool; however, others believe that they have substantial drawbacks to the players, even if they are harmless fun. This essay will clarify both sides of the coin and demonstrate my view that – despite some possible benefits – the negative impacts are more significant.

Regarding the possible drawbacks, foremost negative impacts of this is that video games are often associated with health issues. This is because, in most cases, gamers engage in sedentary behavior. For example, high levels of sedentarism are linked to a greater risk of various illnesses such as obesity, lower back pain, and mental disorders. Another negative effect caused by video games is addiction. The addictive behavior usually makes people uncontrollable regarding their gaming habits. This is resulting in negative consequences in many aspects of life, including relationships, school, and work.

However, we should not ignore the various benefits that internet games may bring about. The most significant aspect of this is that it is regarded as a coping mechanism. Most people, especially teenage boys, play games because they could relieve their minds from school life which can make them stressed. In addition, many people play games as a tool that is able to enhance their problem solving. The problem-solving skill can be sharpened by playing games that are related to critical thinking and strategic planning. For instance, puzzle or strategy-based games that require analytical abilities.

To sum up, while video games seem advantageous to some extent, I would argue that the disadvantages may be more significant and challenging to manage. These include several health conditions and gaming disorders.