SOME PEOPLE SAY HISTORY IS ONE OF MOST IMPORTANT SUBJECTS , OTHERS PEOPLE THINK THAT TODAY, S WORLD SUBJECTS LIKE SCIENCE AND TECNOLOGY ARE MORE IMPORTANT THAN HISTORY

While many people think History is one of the subjects that need to be prioritized in schools, others argue that, in the modern era, subjects like Science and Technology are more crucial than History. In my opinion, Science and Technology are more important than History because in this day and age technology is growing, so the subject should be prioritized in schools over others.

On one side of the argument, there are people who hold the opinion that the subject of history should be prioritized in schools. The most compelling reason is that History trains students to analyze sources, understand different points of view, and evaluate evidence. These critical thinking skills are relevant to all areas of life. For instance, students who are given discussion and debate tasks related to the Proclamation of Indonesian Independence. They will endeavor to learn and find evidence on the topic, which will train their ability to think logically, assess evidence, and construct convincing arguments. Therefore, the subject of history is considered by some to be important to prioritize in schools.

Despite the above arguments, I am of the view that science and technology subjects are more important than history subjects in today’s technological era. Indeed, one of the reasons why I take this position is because in many cases, such as Science and technology play a very important role in supporting operations and technological developments in hospitals. Technology such as imaging to detect breast cancer has not been able to work optimally to detect high-density cancer. Therefore, an understanding that starts from the subject of science and technology in school can be a provision that allows them to innovate the technology to get accurate results.

To sum up, although both views are commonly held in society, I believe that it is more important for science and technology subjects to be prioritized in schools to suit modern times. This is because children need to understand that these two subjects are for the development of current technology and it needs to start when they are in school with a focus on science and technology subjects. Given this situation, it is recommended that schools put more effort into prioritizing science and technology subjects by integrating relevant curricula.