Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things.Other people think advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it.

Many people would argue that advertisements and promotional activities help increase sales of businesses, while others believe that, due to the repetitive nature and high showing rate, customers reduce their interest in these ads. While it is true that advertising creates a massive media coverage of a product, I believe that, with too much spamming content, this method of marketing has become inefficient and ineffective to consumers.

On one hand, marketing helps consumers to understand a product. In fact, people being on their phones or computers daily receive many ads about online goods, together with links to purchase, thus this may facilitate purchases. Moreover, these ads can be targeted to potential buyers by demographic which can also help increase sales eventually. For example, Youtube allows content creators to bring advertisements to billions of users because this platform is widely used around the world. However, advertising is not always effective and efficient since businesses need to investigate their customer segments properly.

On the other hand, the regular display of advertisements might bring adverse effects. Since many of them sometimes deliver inaccurate information about products, or the contents are not appropriate to viewers. Consequently, instead of archiving buyers and purchases, businesses can receive negative feedback and destructive comments. For instance, when using Facebook, minor people can get weapon advertisements which are dangerous content for their mental health. Therefore, I strongly believe that people do not care much about advertising anymore.

In conclusion, although advertising is used as the main method of increasing product sales, people are less concerned about the ads, because these contents are repetitive and misleading.