Some people say that computers can translate languages, so children need not study foreign languages anymore.

In the modern world, more and more people tend to believe online technologies can translate languages, therefore there is no need for children to learn foreign langueges. Although, many people may agree with it, I totally disagree with it due to several reasons, which will be examined in the essay.

One of the most apparent reasons is that learning languages not only help interpreting languages, but can also develop their memory, cognitive development, and problem solving skills. For instance, people who study languages are less supposed to face the diceases such as Altheimer’s. In addition, foreign languages can open other oppurtunities to children such as studying abroad, engaging in international programs or simply integration with other cultures. Thus, learning languages should not be limited only in terms of translation.

Another point that should not be overlooked is that translation cannot always be accurate and suitable for every situations. To clarify, translation programs may interpret isolated words but fail to understand idioms, slang or cultural meanings in that language, as information in the technologies are not wide as in humans are. Furthermore, if everything is done by gadgets, children start to mainly rely on it, and start to become passive learners and lose the competence to communicate with culturally different people in process.

To recapitulate, it is evident that while computers offer convenience and some advantages with language translation, I firmly believe that children should have direct exposure to the foreign languages for cognitive development, cultural development and independent communication.