Some people say that computers can translate languages, so children need not study foreign languages anymore.

Some people believe that advanced technology will be able to comprehend languages, so the new generation will not need to learn foreign languages from now on. However, I do not advocate this idea as much as they do. Even if computers can translate languages, people should not be dependent on them.

Software systems improve year by year and are becoming more crucial in our lives. Users are becoming more obedient to personal computers because we rapidly give up using our intelligence to the Internet. According to a study, individuals’ capacity for understanding is decreasing because of the overuse of the Internet. It illustrates that if people are bound to computers, their collective brain activities will reduce as well, and the problem will be shown in the process of learning a new language too. If parents do not encourage their children to learn any language other than their mother tongue, their children will have to take their computers with them due to the lack of speaking a foreign tongue. Moreover, the new generation will not be able to learn a new language easily if they want to because their brains’ speaking area will become smaller than that of previous generations.

Furthermore, speaking plays a significant role in socialising situations among people. If children spend more time than they need to on the internet, they may not want to be social anymore, so they may not need to use computers to interpretation a foreign language. And at the end of the day, people will give up meeting each other, and computers will tie us to them.

In conclusion, letting computers speak a strange tongue will not only diminish our minds but also keep us behind in our social lives. Because of these reasons, people should keep learning a new language instead of using computers.