Some people say that government should pay money on large pieces of art, like sculptures for public display in outdoor places. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s world, some people argue that authorities should spend more on creating large works of art, such as scluptures, for outdoor displays. Personally, I strongly agree with this argument because of the attraction to visitors and the increase in job opportunities.

Admittedly, spending financial resources for the investment in social aspects, especially in infrastructures, medicines or social security systems, can bring more long-term improvement opportunities for countries rather than paying money for public artworks. This can stablize society and enhance the pleasure and entertainment for public. In addition, the concentration on leading economic sectors may improve national position in global organizations. For example, Vietnam has boosted the development of modern technology sectors recently, particularly in semi-conductors or artificial intelligent(AI). This helps Vietnam increasingly assert its potentials in keeping pace with contemporary trends.

However, I believe that the attention to public display can give many advantages. Some unique works of art at local areas can attract domestic and foreign visitors, who are curious with imaginary artworks. For instance, Cloud Gate in Chicago, the USA, brings millions of travelers every year to admire the beauty of this public sculpture. This increasingly creates revenues for other fields for city, such as hotel services or restaurants, thanks to visitor trips for days to adapt their tourism demands. Moreover, the construction of artistic works required considerable labour resources, thereby broadening opportunities for individuals, especially in blue-collar workers to earn extra money. This partly supports for the underprivileged to pay for their living costs as well as diminishes unemployment rates, which boost their national economies.

In conclusion, although there are other essential industrial sectors, the expense for large pieces of art have potential in attracting international and national visitors to develop economy as well as giving chances for labourers to earn a livelihood.