Some people say that individuals who make a lot of money are most successful. Others think that those who contribute to society like scientists and teachers are most successful. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Opinions are divided on whether well-off individuals or those who contribute meaningfully to society should be considered as being successful. Although considerable prosperity serves a crucial role in the way people define success, I believe socially positive contributions are a better and more profound measure of success.

Proponents who argue that possessing financial wealth is the key factor to succeeding present some valid points. Firstly, today’s markets are far more competitive and challenging than ever, due to labor market instability, fierce business competition, and emerging talents. Therefore, when entrepreneurs or new employees from more humble backgrounds start making a large amount of income and gain a breakthrough promotion, they can be seen as more exemplary figures who overcome many other privileged competitors in the same markets. Thus, this reflects their sharp thinking, a more strategic vision, and excellent adaptability that make them stand out in this unpredictable world.

However, I believe that individuals who make lasting contributions to the overall societal development should be more recognized. In school settings, educators and teachers are responsible for imparting knowledge and helping students shape appropriate behaviors and mindsets. Therefore, younger generations can develop the personal growth and ethical principles needed to become beneficial citizens of society. In addition, scientists whose aims are to make innovative changes and conduct research can help improve people’s living standards and ensure a robust health system. For instance, during the COVID-19 pandemic, these scientists played a vitally important role in slowing down the spread of the virus by the timely release of vaccines through rapid enhancements and experiments, saving countless lives worldwide.

In short, even though material gain is one of the most noticeable keys in defining success, I strongly believe that those who dedicate their whole lives to societal advancement, particularly through education and science, are truly successful individuals.