Some people say that individuals who make a lot of money are most successful. Others think that those who contribute to society like scientists and teachers are most successful. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Success can mean wildly different things to different people. While no one can argue against the important of money in the modern world. A lot of people still says to be successful is not to make a lot of money but to have contributed more to society. In this essay, I hope to explore both of these viewpoints and give my opinion on them

As I have written above, making money is certainly not without its merits, especially in the modern world. In short, money just makes life easier. No more worries about bills, fees, tuition. Having money allows people to be free from the endless cycle of making ends meet. Apart from helping your own life, money can also secure your children’s future as well. Money means a good school, a good social circle, and overall, a good foundation for your child’s future. Furthermore, money can mean power as well. Being wealthy, you can meet other wealthy and influential people. And good connections like that can go a long way in a capitalistic world like ours.

But of course, money is not the end all be all. Other people argue that society progress is much more important than personal gains, and to a certain degree that is true. Contributing to society, in whatever forms it may be, means helping people. Doctors helping patients, scientists curing diseases. These people work tirelessly to help others so how can we not call them successful when they have done so much for society. Even without the perks of a life filled with riches, those who have worked hard for the good of humanity can be proud that they will be remembered fondly. Aren’t the scientists of the world always more admirably looked up to than the billionaires?

In my personal opinion, success is not an objective term. There isn’t and won’t ever be a definite metric to measure success. So, I think it is unfair to judge what is more important in life, whether it is making money or contributing to society, that is up to the individual to choose. And as it is with all choices in life, only we can judge if it is the right choice for us.