Some people say that its better to teach language students in small class, whereas others think the number of peole does not matter. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Language is one of the most prominent subjects taught at schools due to its role on learners’ personal and professional life. While it is believed that smaller classes offer better language learning atmosphere and outcome, some argue that the class size is not a decisive factor. In this essay, I will discuss both perspectives and explain why smaller class size is much more reliable than the larger one in language classrooms.

I am of the opinion that a small group of students help teachers manage the class better and provide more meaningful learning experience for everyone. For example, teachers may provide more detailed individualized feedback that can be used to enhance students’ academic attainment. Through personalized input, students can accurately identify their academic weaknesses and strengths for better performance in the future. This is arguably much more effective compared to giving general suggestions to students without considering their performance.

However, with appropriate strategies and teaching methods, lesson delivery can be conducted inclusively in a class with high number of students. The strategy may be conducted through instructing all participants to work together with their classmates through a project-based learning activities. For example, teachers can initiate a drama show in English to make sure everyone has the same chance to practice their speaking skills. This technique may help promote learners’ autonomous learning abilities and social interactions among them. Despite this, it is very challenging to ensure those from lower achieving groups have adequate support from teachers and other students. Therefore, this technique may create a gap between high and low achievers.

In conclusion, teachers in a class with fewer students may be able to offer better learning experience through giving feedback based on the students’ academic performance. While teachers can use inclusive approach to engage students in larger size of classrooms, those with slower learning pace may face difficulties in finding meaningful support to catch up with their peers.