Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, some people champion the noition that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultural backgrounds and age groups together. Recognizing the merits of this viewpoint, I am inclined to support this view.

On the one hand, it is often said that music is an international language that connects people from different parts of the world. Classical music was originated in Europe, which was first performed for the royals, whereas nowadays it has widespread worldwide, and people are able to listen to classical music through musical platforms or videos. Whatever rich or poor, people could find resonance in music. They can feel the romance in chopin’s nocturne, the impressionism in Debussy’s Clair De Lune, which is a shared feeling for people who have different cultures or ages. People may have various comments on these pieces though, the music has beyond the borders of the country, and allow them to express their own emotions and feelings.

On the other hand, comtemporary music blends the music from different cultures and genres. Jazz was first invented by black people, in New Orleans, Louisiana. It was based on the tradition of classical music and the culture of black people that made this genre performed in such a unique way. At first, it was usually performed in a whorehouse, where the prostitutions work. As time went by, the music itself has evolved in the past decades, from the original ragtime to big band, then to cool jazz, bepop, bossa nova, and now there is even jazz hiphop. People from different cultural backgrounds and different ages were inspired by the charisma of jazz, and then fusioned it with their own lifestyles and cultural backgrounds. For instance, bossa nova was first invented in the 1950s, which was the fusion of cool jazz and mpb. Gilberto, one of the founders of the bossa nova, presented jazz music in a Brazilian style with American Saxophonist Stan getz, and it had also gone viral in the USA in the 1960s after the release of Getz/Gilberto. It showed that music played a role in reuniting people from different cultures and ages, and it was also a process of letting people create music with each other, excluding their ages or cultures.

The more obvious example is Imagine by John Lennon, which was played in the opening ceremony of Olympics, it was a music that conveyed peace, a common will of people from different cultures and ages, and it has brought people together.

In conclusion, I totally agree on the view that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together, it could be an international languages that bond people to each other.