Some people say that parents need to spend time on reading or telling stories to children, while others think parents no longer have to do this because there are other sources for stories such as books, TV and the Internet. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are those who believe that modern parents no longer have to spend time reading stories to their children, given the availability of alternative sources for stories such as books, TV programs and the internet. However, others, myself included, argue that this practice should still be maintained, as it benefits children’s linguistic development and fosters stronger bonds within the family.

Admittedly, it has to be acknowledged that children can now access a wide range of stories without parents’ involvement. For example, there are many children’s books that contain age-appropriate stories with eye-catching illustrations to pique and retain young readers’ interest. TV programs are another platform where storytelling has become more immersive, with animated pictures, along with well-blended sounds, which can enhance children’s understanding, thanks to the visual and audio aid. Similarly, a large number of YouTube channels are dedicated to telling stories such as My Story Animated, allowing children to enjoy their favorite stories in a fun and immersive way.

However, the availability of these mediums does not preclude the need for parents to tell stories to their young ones. The key reason is that young children are bound to encounter linguistic problems such as unfamiliar syntax, and the use of advanced vocabulary and/or grammar, when they read or watch stories on their own. This can affect their understanding and ultimately their language and cognitive development. These problems can be easily resolved if parents are involved in storytelling because they can offer explanations and rephrase difficult concepts in simpler language. Furthermore, parents who have a habit of telling stories to their children often have more intimate relationships with them, fostering a more harmonious family environment. In fact, parents who often read bed-time stories to their infants tend to have an easier time dealing with their teenage years later due to the close-knit relationships established early on.

In conclusion, although children’s stories are readily available and easily accessible on other platforms, parents should still spare time to read stories to their children to better facilitate their development and build tight-knit relationships with them.