Some people say that schools should concentrate on teaching students academic subjects that will be useful for their future careers. Other people say that subjects such as music and sports are also necessary. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Opinions are divergent regarding what subjects that schools should focus more on in order to be helpful for students’ future careers, academic subjects or non-academic subjects. This essay will discuss both views, and I believe that schools should concentrate more on core subjects than artistic and athletic fields.

On the one hand, focusing on academic subjects is advantageous to a certain extent. Learning core subjects is a priority for individuals who want to enhance the prospects of securing high-paying jobs. The foremost objective for most students is to have a financially viable career; therefore, the curriculum should be dedicated to help students to access higher education institutions and enhance their employment opportunities. Thereby, it is essential for scholars to equip crucial specialized knowledge such as Mathematics, Science and Physics in order to tackle complex problems in competitive workplace environments better. These subjects also make students honing their logical and critical thinking leading to valuable academic outcomes.

On the other hand, I am convinced that the aforementioned advantages pale in comparison with the benefits of non-academic subjects. Firstly, studying artistic and athletic fields are directly helpful in enhancing collaborative efficiency and creativity. Participation in music and sports not only allows students to improve crucial skills such as creativity, teamwork, discipline but also contributes to the development of physical fitness, coordination and leadership skills. As employers often seek candidates who have technical expertise and quickly adapt, students have to attach greater importance to cultivate relevant skills that are valuable in the recruitment. Moreover, learning non-academic courses can discover the potential talents in students at early ages. This can help students achieve their full potential and improve innate talents, in an attempt to foster a strong foundation to achieve highly successful jobs. Musically inclined individuals; for instance, when attending music courses, they can receive career-centric education and also optimize their talents, which in turn, help students to create lucrative career paths.

In a nutshell, while the enormous setbacks of learning academic subjects can not be denied, participation in music and sports is also significant for students, as they can facilitate creativity and develop their potential talents.