Some people say that technologies such as mobile phones are disrupting social interaction. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, social relationships have been deteriorating along with the enhancement of technology. From my perspective, the former notion is completely flawed owing to the fact that technology could foster strong connections among people and create communities, regardless of location.

Firstly, I would agree that technology enables individuals to connect people at lightning speed and with unprecedented ease. According to the enhancement of technology, such as mobile phones, the pace of communication has sped up and its reach has broadened. For example, video calls and instant messaging allow people who are living abroad to keep in touch with their family, friends, and other people across distances. In addition, it allows people to share fun vacation photos on their social media platforms. Therefore, this accessibility to communication fosters a sense of closeness, enhancing rather than hindering social interaction.

Secondly, another point to consider is that technology can help us make communities to gain insightful knowledge. Helping people connect with others who share similar interests or experiences, social media helps raise awareness; it has the power to create movements that attract widespread public and financial support. On social media, we can easily create English communities where individuals exchange ideas and tips with others, for example. Furthermore, it is empowered to provide social campaigns, which, involving social media users dousing themselves and daring their friends to do the same, raised awareness for helping each other.

In conclusion, despite technology being a double-edged sword in social interaction, I believe that technology also contributes positively to social interaction by bridging distances and creating new forms of community.