Some people say that technology has improved our lifestyle and has given the opportunity to enjoy more leisure time. Others,however, say that we have less legend than the past when technology has little influence on us. Do you agree that modern technology has given a small letter time then before?

With the advent of the 21st century, technology has leapt to a level that was unimaginable only even 50 years ago. The question is whether latest technology has provided us more free time than previous generations or not. In my view, people’s leisure time has been narrowing as a result of the tremendous advance in modern technology.

In today’s modernised era, technological gadgets make our lives faster, easier and more convenient. For example, dishwasher, a labour-saving device in the home fetches people more recreational time. In addition, almost all modern kitchens have several electrical appliances that save our time.

However, people’s leisure lives are continuously eroded because of the ubiquity of modern technological tools, such as computers with internet access and telecommunications equipment. These inventions expose the minds to spend more of their daily time. It is noteworthy that people now take fewer and shorter vacations following the increase in the number of technology-based activities. For instance, cell phones and laptops make people accessible to their superiors wherever they go. What is more, people seem to be more ambitious these days, and they want a better quality of life for their families. This means that both parents usually need to work full-time. So, it can be said that the time budget is burdened because more time should be invested in activities that previously ignored.

In conclusion, while there are some reasons to believe that people now get more free time in the development of technology, my own view is that the amount of leisure time has decreased to a great extent over the last decade