"Some people say that the application of Artificial Intelligence (AI) in education will revolutionise learning, while others fear it will dehumanise and inequitably alter education. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience. You should write about 350 words."

In light of the applications of Artificial Intelligence or AI in educations, it has always been a hotly-debated topic whether it will help renovate the way we learn or it will dehumanise education or even drives education to a negative development. To my perspective, I hold a mixed-opinion in this discourse as AI does provide us with both pros and cons, furthermore, considering whether it does wonder for us or drives us to a wrong way is a thorny question to be answered.

For those who argue that the applications of AI in education will breath a new wind into the way learning and teaching is performed, I believe that they hold some valid points, which are only be known when being considered closely. Firstly, it is undeniable that the appearance of this wonderful intelligence is a heaven-sent invention as it helps human-beings with any aspects of life and in any fields that we know nowadays. For example, AI-powered chat bots are now playing an important role in the way financial management is performed and the way students study. To clarify, students nowadays can access to a wide range of professional knowledge without paying for a book or a course thanks to the aid of AI assistants as they can gather and modify information based on the user’s request. This, leading to a less time-consuming learning process and will make education more effective and much easier.

Concerning those who advocate for the idea that artificial intelligence will cause some irreversible drawbacks on education, I think that their belief is not entirely wrong. To begin with, the presence of AI has been thought to to us with some inevitable downsides, one of which is a less active generation because students tend to rely too much on those assistants for their own tasks such as homework, learning materials or even real-life projects. For instance, the miracle benefits of AI-powered chat bots gradually drive students to a learning journey that lacks in realistic experience or practical knowledge for the fact that students are now having a tendency to ask those bots for everything about their majors without any attempt of trying to do it by themselves first. This trend, if prolonged will lead to a toxic environment of education, thus dehumanising the way education is performed.

In conclusion, the discourse between the applications of AI in education is a thorny one so that it is not easy for us to make a decision precisely. Therefore, we have to weigh up all the pros and cons of AI-powered assistant and lay restriction of the application of them in order to form the most effective education.