Some people say that the main aim of advertising is to improve sales of products that people do not really need. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a notion that promoting the sales of products constituting unnecessary for individuals is the fundamental target of advertisement. From my perspective, I totally disagree with this viewpoint because of two main reasons, including the developing economy and mitigating the rate of missing out on good things.

Firstly, advertisement considers an industrial field, which contributes to fostering economic growth. When manufacturers want to launch new items in the market and bring them closer to customers, they need tools to help them boost their item image. In this way, advertising becomes an effective way that assists them to tackle that issue, which is conducive for marketing agencies and advertising companies to develop. Therefore, not only can producers make profits, but agencies can as well, thereby cultivating economic development.

Furthermore, it is not only advertisement facilitates the economy to grow, but it also alleviates the possibility of missing out on good products. In the market, there are many useful inventions that support individuals to tackle their problems. To be more precise, technology will be exemplified for this concern. It is obvious that if manufacturers completely invent a technological product like a mobile phone that helps people to keep in touch without a face-to-face arrangement, they will encounter problems of popularizing it. In this case, without the assistance of advertisement, it is difficult for them to publish their invention popularly to the public.

In conclusion, I wholeheartedly disagree with the statement that advertisements mainly focus on boosting the sales of useless products to society. It contributes to cultivating the economic development due to the growth of the advertisement industry and the increasing sales of products leading to the growth of manufacturers. In addition to this benefit, it also helps customers to catch a new invention and mitigate the possibility of missing out on helpful things.