Some people say that the main aim of advertising is to improve sales of products that people do not really need. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Increasing the sales of products is the major goal of advertising. Also, it may encourage people to make unnecessary purchases. I partially agree with this statement, because there can be other aspects for making advertisement such introducing new products for consumers.

The main aim of advertisements can be emphasized as driving sales and persuading people to buy products. The reason is, constantly watching, hearing and seeing them from TV and Radio platforms and even on street billboards can lead to increase sales. Because on advertisements, companies always use special techniques to motivate people and to make desire to buy products. One clear example is the company that called ”The Coca-Cola Company” which produces sweetened drink cola. In particular, on their advertisements, they associate their drink with fast foods. Due to this technique, majority of people who visited junk food restaurants are likely to buy one cane of cola. Therefore, key factor of advertisements is to improve sales.

However, advertisement can be used in another way. For instance, to raise awareness of recently announced product. When companies lounge new product, obviously they try to inform people about their latest products by advertisements. When people get information about new announcements, they can be interested in buying them. For example,” Apple” announced their new brand VR glasses that called ”Apple vison”. By advertisements it went viral on social platforms and its sales saw a rise. For this reason, advertisement can play an important role in process of introducing latest products.

In conclusion, while advertisement’s goal is to boost sales, it also helps in order to introduce new products.