Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems

While many individuals argue that the major envimmental issues in today’s generation is the loss of some varieties of flora and fauna, some believe that there are more critical environmental problems. In my opinion, although environmental issues have led to the decline of varieties of flora and fauna, there are more pressing concerns like global warming and desertification.

Loss of many plants and animals is one of the major biodiversity issue as it is the vital part of our environment which helps in balancing the natural cycle and is a important means of food and medicine for today’s society. Due to the continuous declination of plant and animal population, many rare species are going extinct from our nature. For instance, species like ginseng which have immense medical value is very scarce nowadays, which is really concerning for the medical development and the whole humankind who would benefit from it.

Global warming and desertification, on the other hand are even more concerning environmental issue as they lead to many other major biodiversity loss. Due to deforestation and forest encroachment, many plants and animals are losing their habitat, which results in their declination. Moreover, it leads to global warming which is the root cause of many environmental problems like glacier melting, desertification, etc. directly contributing to various climate related issues.

To conclude, eventhough the loss of plants and animals is very concerning issue, there are a lots of major environmenta problems which has a very negative impact on the whole mankind and biodiversity.