Some people say that to prevent illness and diaseas, goverment should focous more on reducing environmental pollution and housing problem.to what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that if the government focuses more on decreasing environmental pollution and housing problems, they can prevent illness and diseases. While I understand why environmental issues and housing problems should be more concerned, I believe that more solutions are required to avert diseases.

On the one hand, focusing on reducing environmental and housing problems is understandable. To begin with, declining environmental pollution such as water pollution and air pollution will help improve human well-being . For example, carbon dioxide which is released from factories and vehicles will affect the air quality and cause air pollution. Hence, this can lead to respiratory disease such as tuberculosis and lung cancer. Moreover, tackling housing problems also help prevent sickness and diseases. Because those who are homeless may be contagious in crowded places, solving housing issues will play a significant contributor in precluding the spread of infectious diseases. In particular, during the Covid-19 pandemic, homeless people are more likely to suffer from this disease.

On the other hand, I believe that more radical and long term solutions are required to prevent sickness and diseases. Firstly, the government should raise people’s awareness of the importance of health. For instance, the government can encourage people to lead a healthy lifestyle by doing exercises regularly and using organic merchandise. Furthermore, the government can also raise the taxes for unhealthy food such as fast food and punish severely those selling unhealthy products. Secondly, to avert diseases, the government can also invest more in the healthcare system in order to develop advanced medical equipment. By doing so people with serious health problems will be cured.

In conclusion, while I support the view that resolving environmental and housing phenomena should be concerned, I disagree that other problems are not important and the government should balance all of these problems to prevent diseases and illness effectively.