Some people say that tourism has many negative effects on the countries that people travel to. How true is this statement? What can tourists do to reduce the harmful effects of tourism on local cultures and environment

Some countries rely on tourism, as it is their main industry. These countries receive large numbers of tourists and have to provide many facilities for them. This brings money into the economy and creates jobs, but it can also cause problems.

In my opinion, one of the worst effects of tourism is the presence of large crowds of people in streets and areas of beauty. When this happens, local people can find it difficult to do things they want to do. Also, the appearance of their home city or village can change so much that they feel they have lost their identity.

Another disadvantage of tourism is that tourists do not usually worry about environmental issues. If trees have been cut down to build hotels, this does not matter to them. If their children drop litter, they may not do anything about it. However, these problems can be very worrying for people who live in the area all the time. Generally, I think there are positive things that tourists can do. Firstly, they can think about where they go on holiday and avoid places that are already overcrowded. Secondly, they should read something about their holiday destination before they leave. This will help them understand the people and culture better. Lastly, they should try to look after the area they stay in and observe the rules there.

Overall, I believe tourism has many benefits for everyone. However, it is important that people still think about protecting tourist locations and reducing the undesirable impacts of tourist behaviour.