Some people say that tourists cannot learn very much about a place from visiting it on holiday. Others say that they can learn a lot. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In recent years, holidays in various places have become increasingly popular around the globe. While some individuals believe that this activity provides a limited understanding for tourists, others oppose this view, arguing that it offers valuable learning opportunities. In this essay, both of the views will be discussed before I present my own opinion.

On the one hand, some people claim that travellers cannot learn deeply about the vacation places. Since individuals stay in a country for a limited amount of time, this does not allow them to get to know about cultures, traditions, and religious ceremonies. For instance, most sightseeing tours in many countries focus on famous landmarks and sculptures rather than the daily life of locals. Therefore, not always can a vacation provide a valuable understanding.

On the other hand, some believe that travellers can gain a great deal of knowledge about the country. The vacation places expose them to different languages, people, and lifestyles, which can help broaden one’s perspective and knowledge. To illustrate, in Uzbekistan, many visitors visit English-speaking countries, such as the USA, Australia, or the UK for holidays. According to them, after the exposure to a new language, the majority of travellers started learning English.

In my opinion, although short visits can restrict how much travellers can provide much information, I believe that they still provide meaningful opportunities for learning. Even brief exposure to new cultures and perspectives can challenge the visitors’ stereotypes and develop curiosity. Additionally, when travellers try to engage in conversation with locals, they can learn far more than they expect.

In conclusion, although some individuals criticize the limited time for learning, I believe that with tourists’ effort and slight exposure, they can learn a lot about the places they are visiting.