Some people say that what individuals protect the environment cannot make a difference. Other people say that every individual should take responsibility for it. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

One school of thought asserts that no enhancement can be made to the environment even with the general public’s attempt to protect it, while others contend that it is the mission for every individual to care for the health of the entire planet Earth. Both viewpoints are valid, however, I found myself inclining towards the latter stance as protecting the environment is an ethical obligation and small actions can contribute to broader participation in eco-friendly practices.

To commence, regardless of the perceived impact, each person has a moral responsibility to do their part in addressing environmental challenges. Even if individual efforts alone cannot solve the problem, everyone is morally accountable for reducing harm to the nature’s gift as a step toward a more sustainable future. According to the Earth Policy Institute, more than 1 trillion plastic bags are used worldwide annually, with each person using about 300 bags per year on average.

Nevertheless, the belief that individual efforts cannot make a difference is not baseless, as environmental problems like climate change, deforestation, and pollution are considered extremely vast and global. This leads to an argument among critics that the small-scale actions of human being are too minor to impact such massive, complex issues. Despite of that, individual voices have been proved to create the foundation for systemic change due to large collective influence from negligible efforts.

From my own perspective, I would still advocate that each inhabitant of the Earth is able to inspire others and contribute to a culture of environmental awareness and responsibility. Social influence and peer pressure can encourage broader participation in eco-friendly practices, which can lead to larger societal changes. A real-world example is seen in the UK, where a 5p charge for plastic bags introduced in 2015 led to an 86% reduction in plastic bag use within just six months, preventing billions of bags from entering landfills and oceans.

In conclusion, I enthusiastically approve of the statement which suggests that even minorities can make important improvements to protect and save our planet.