Some people say we dont nees newspapers anymore.To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, there is a view among individuals about getting rid of newspapers and their usefulness in our fast-paced world. In my point of view, they are becoming redundant because of their environmental impact and inefficiency.

On the one hand, newspapers are a navigation tool for elderly people who are not familiar with current technologies. Newspapers have been a paramount part of life for elderly people; hence, getting rid of newspapers would ensure disillusionment among that social group. By the time the internet is accidentally disrupted, newspapers would assist us.

On the other hand, newspapers cause environmental damage. As newspapers are made of paper, and paper comes from wood, a lot of trees are being cut down for mere pieces of paper, regardless of the factories that consume a lot of energy and fossil fuels. Thereby, destroying natural habitats and contributing to deforestation. While shifting completely to digital news sources will not mitigate this damage, it would promote sustainable consumption.

Another supreme disadvantage is the slow pace of production, which can take weeks. The process of collecting information and checking whether this data is certified or not might take much more time, not considering the fact about printing and transporting it all. Consequently, printed newspapers are much less likely to deliver real-time news, unlike digital platforms or apps that can easily spread news within a short time.

In conclusion, although newspapers might still be useful among some groups of society, most people can access digital news with minimal support. I believe that printed newspapers’ time has passed and is unnecessary in our fast-paced lives, given the environmental harm and the slower pace of news delivery compared with digital news.