Some people suggest that a country should try to produce all the food for its population and import as little food as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that country might try to produce all the food for its population and import less food as possible. This essay argues that population should receive all the food that is manufactured by their own country and it should import as little food as possible, because this makes country less dependent on other countries and it can develop agriculture.

The main reason why I believe that country should produce food for its habitats and import less food as possible is because availability of products can create independence from other countries. Because if there are numerous world issues, it is crucial to have own resources and products to preserve country’s citizens. For instance, situation with COVID-19 was able to cause international crisis, importing of food could be difficult for countries, which were most needed for it, that is why some products could disappear from stores. However, if the country itself can produce enough food, this will help to avoid shortages.

Another reason supporting the idea that producing all the food internally develop agriculture and create new workplace. It is more important in rural regions, where people have less opportunities for the employment. For example, if country increase support of production and local farmers, in the villages will be more work places and it will improve quality of living there. When most people buy local products, the country’s economy receives money, not other countries. Therefore, producing food internally can influence on country’s economy and even improve it for the well future.

To conclude, I completely agree that country should create all the food for its citizens and do not buy products from another country because it may form independency from other countries and improve agriculture.