Some people thick that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true functions of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What , in your opinion, should be the main function of a university

Currently, there are a huge debates about the main function of educational institutions. Some people believe that it is an obligation for universities to taught about knowledge and skills related to professional career. However, others argue that universities do not have mandatory to prepared their student in workplace. In my opinion, the major purpose to graduate from a college is to gain useful knowledge and skills for future jobs, so universities must provide those things for their students.

There is no doubt that in order to be succesful in their career, graduates must be prepared before entering the actual workplace. In some cases, even though college students have studied for years in their major and excel in their study, they are still lack of ability to perform well in their professional career. For example, many graduates do not have the knowledge and skills how to handle pressure when they are making a mistake. This is due to the fact that university’s environment can be a safe place for them to do trial and error while they do not have to worry about making mistake. The worst thing that can be happened is a person who can not handle critics from the people in works can severe for stress and affect his well-being. Therefore, knowledge and skills that beneficial for graduates to survive in their works should be provide by the universities.

In spite of its importance of providing knowledge and skills related to workplace to their students, universities can not be focused in providing specific materials. Their duty is to give general things that can be implemented by all of their graduates from any kind of majors. The graduates also should be able to analyse what things that they can use in their each fields. For instance, material such as “how to have a good relation with boss” is made for general workplaces, so it might be not relevant for medical students as their workplace is different from someone who works in a hierarchial office. So, the students have to know what kind of knowledge and skills that can be implemented in their workplace.

In summary, universities should give important knowledge and skills to prepare their graduates to perform well in their workplace. However, the educational institutions can just provide the general things, so the graduates should not be dependable to the educational institution to help their performacne in profesional career.