Some people thick that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true functions of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What , in your opinion, should be the main function of a university

In modern society, it can not be denied that the universities play a crucial role in career orientation for students. It is debated whether these tertiary educations should pay attention to equip graduates with job-related skills or pure knowledge. I completely support the former viewpoint that universities should organize their curriculum in order to provide future employees with all working-needed skills for some reasons below

To begin with, no matter which major students study in universities, when graduating from school, most students need to engage in the workplace to earn a living or even bear a monetary burden to support their families. This means that preparation for their future employment is of importance and students who are furnished with job-related skills can easily seek a suitable job. Furthermore, if the universities focus more on career-oriented education, the unemployment rate would significantly decrease. Hence, one of the most significant functions of universities is to give graduates access to some skills that are related to their future occupations so that they can secure a well-paid job

Another reason I would like to make is that paying attention to job-related skills can make a profit for universities itself. The fact is, the more successful graduates are at their career, the more famous universities become. For example, one of the main reasons why Foreign Trade University is famous for training in the field of Economics is that there are a huge number of students who become successful entrepreneurs after graduating from this university.

All in all, the main function of universities should be providing graduates with access to all job-related skills in order to prepare for their upcoming opportunities and challenges in the workplace.