Some people thick that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true functions of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What , in your opinion, should be the main function of a university

Nowadays we are dealing with the steadily growing popularity of high school education. Some people believe that the main goal of any univercity is to give students skills and knowledges that should be closely related to their future job, but others think that the true aim is to just give the ability to study. This essay will discuss both points of view and then I will give my own opinion.

On the one hand, graduate who has good knowledge of his professional subjects is unlikely to stay unemployed. If univercity provides students appropriate knowledges and skills, these students will be expected to have more chance to apply for their first job. If job candidate have narrow and deep knowledge on the most significant subjects that will help him to achive a success in his potential job tasks, this candidate can be really attractive for employer.

On the other hand, it is really important not to limit student to his certain field, but to just give an access to knowledge. Today people are facing with a lot of changes during their lifes, and often these changes are related to the career. For instance, the situation when mining engineer decides to become an IT specialist is really common in contemporary world. If he is limited to the cources related to the mining specialty and doesn’t have enough time and ability to develop different kinds of his personal skills on his own, it will be a lot more difficult for him to change his job in the future. Consequently, the stratagy of learning different courses can make graduades more flexible in terms of their employment, which nowadays is a really good benefit.

To sum up, I tend to think that the main aim of the modern univercity should be to provide students the ability to get knowledges on their own. This strategy will give them more chances to change their job, which is really important today.