Some people think children should be allowed to make their own decisions from an early age. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a view that young people should get a chance to make their own decisions from an early age. I strongly agree with this opinion for several reasons.

Some might argue that letting a person decide something from their childhood may pose some threat to them. This is mainly because juveniles are not mature enough to interpret certain circumstances in the right way and make proper decisions. They also tend to rely on their emotions rather than intelligence, which makes them choose the instant benefit over a valid decision. For example, when a school kid is bored with doing homework, he clearly would not do this.

However, allowing a child to make own decision does not mean to not controlling or giving advice to him. As well as giving a child freedom, parents should support and guide their child if one is clearly making the wrong decisions.

On the other hand, if a child gets an opportunity to make own decisions, it can yield good results to his or her adulthood. As they are permitted to do so, they will start to think more independently and maybe even adopt a good habit of being responsible for actions and decisions that they do. Personally, I got total freedom of decision making in my childhood, and by this I started thinking before doing something and analyze all possible outcomes and then only choose the correct way of doing something. As a result, I was well-prepared for adulthood and was already familiar with the concept of being an adult.

In conclusion, although there might be some drawbacks of allowing young people to make decisions, I still believe that it is a good action which should be taken by parents. Additionally, because letting a young person make decisions on their own may pose threats to him, parents should guide them while allowing them to make decisions.