Some people think increasing the cost of fuel is the best way to solve global environmental problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Environmental problems including climate change and clean air are a threat to many countries and citizens. I am inclined to in accordance with the view that make fuels more costly is one of the most useful techniques to address with those issues.

To begin with, this approach can absolutely prevent individuals from driving their vehicles. The increasing spending on petrol, oil and gas will pose heavy economic burden over the car owners and stop them from unnecessary drives. As a result, there will be less automobiles on roads, leading to reduced exhaust fumes and other pollutants. After all, if the emissions of green house gas and similar polluting particles are not lowered to an extent, air quality will not be better. Another indispensible effect is that rising temperature will be mitigated, even though not reversed. For instance, the raised cost of fossil fuels is introduced by some European countries, charging additional taxes.

Apart from that, one more crucial contribution of this policy is that governments acquire more fiscal budget to investment in environmental campaigns and green schemes. By pricing carbon-based fuels higher, national organizations can receive more tax income. Therefore, they can allocate more public spending in green technologies, such as exploiting solar, wind, and tide energy. Consequently, it is easier to alter our dependence on non-recyclable energy from the roots and make the earth a cleaner place. Plus, with the extra fund, statesmen can renovate and compensate public transportation including trains, buses, and subways, attracting more residents to participate in green transport missions. This can not only satisfy individuals’ demands for commutation, but also further demotivate them to drive traditional cars.

To wrap up, even if there are several alternatives in tackling with environmental concerns, indeed, an ideal one is to drag up fuel price. I am convinced that by implenting this policy, fewer automations will be witnessed on streets, with air pollution relieved and global warming curtailed; and more environental activities will be launched, with adequate financial assistance.