Some people think it is better for one single legal system throughout the world. Others say countries should have their own law. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

While there is an opinion that there should be only one legal system throughout the world, some people believe that each country operating its own law would be the most optimal. Although equality can be ensured with the emergence of one universally applied legal framework, it might not be suitable for all nations regarding the diversity of national identities around the world.

On the one hand, countries conducting their own law could help the law themselves be more detailed and specific. As an illustration, while most nations prohibit the use of guns, America does not, as it played an important role in America’s independence and also serves as a tool for self-protection. Each region possesses their own cultures and lifestyles; thus, provided that their legal systems are humane and meet shared standards, governments enacting their laws could suit more with their direction in developing the country as well as become easier to manage crime rate due to limited scope.

On the other hand, the existence of solely a global framework can emphasize justice among mankind. In other words, a universally applied legal system means that regardless of identities, cultural factors and backgrounds, people would be equally judged and penalized to a similar degree if committing crime. Take the prohibition of guns as a demonstration, if it is applied all around the world, the security can be guaranteed on a large-scale. There will be a significant decrease in mortality rate and personally it can help people reduce anxiety.

However, the worldwide legal management might be more difficult as there will not exist only one government for the whole world. Therefore, if governments operate the shared laws within their countries, there might be no certainty that they will utilize those laws entirely and originally. There will be loopholes. With such reason, I reckon that nations having their own regulatory frameworks is ultimate.

In conclusion, while a unified global legal system may promote equality and consistency, it cannot be guaranteed that such a framework would be reasonable for every nation. Given the diversity of cultural values and social priorities, allowing countries to enact laws themselves remains more practical, provided that these legal systems adhere to international standards.