Some people think it is more important to spend money on roads and motorways than on public transport system. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s society, some believe that it is integral to invest public money on public transport systems such as railways and trams instead of on roads and motorways. Personally I am in favor of the opinion considering the numerous benefits that public transportation brings about.

To commence with, public vehicles undoubtedly make commuters’ lives easier. Nowadays it is increasingly hard and costly to find a parking space for a car or a motorbike, especially in big cities. Therefore, financing public systems is a great way to steer clear from this problem. What is more, instead of cramming on roads in cars for long hours which may lead to stress or exhaustion, people could alternatively use that time to rest on railways and save energy for work efficiency. Plus, encouraging the use of public transport through financial support effectively reduces the amount of vehicles on roads during peak hours, hence alleviating congestion.

Beyond that, spending money on such public systems is advantageous to the environment. It is alarming that most of the pollution originates from automobiles’ emission. As a result, switching to mass transit could minimize the fumes emitted to the atmosphere extensively and reduce carbon footprint in general. There is no doubt to say investing in public transport is a wise move towards improving quality life.

To conclude, it is evident that the benefit of public systems is enormous as it enhances life physically and environmentally. Therefore, the government should spend money on developing such services.