Some people think mobile phones should be banned in public places such as libraries, shops and public transport. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is believed that there should be a ban on mobile phones in public areas and on public transport due to their disturbances from notification sounds or phone calls. I am convinced that phones should be allowed to be used to some extent in order to ensure convenience for individuals.

On the one hand, people advocating for the prohibition of cellphones in public areas may have their own reasons. They may find the sounds from phone messages and notifications annoying and distracting to fully concentrate on their work. Specifically, individuals coming to the libraries to immerse themselves in books may be distracted if someone texts to their friends and constantly gets message notifications. When it comes to public transportation, talking loudly over the phone may be a nuisance to people. Some individuals just want to get a wink of sleep on their way home, but then the person sitting next to them starts to make a phone call with their friends at high volume. This may be distracting and disruptive especially in quiet environments like buses or trains.

On the other hand, although cell phone use in public places can cause disturbances to others, it may be inconvenient for people if phones are strictly prohibited. Phones can be useful in case of emergencies, for instance car accidents in public areas, residents may find it difficult to call an ambulance without cell phones. Additionally, mobile phones allow individuals to access numerous entertainment sources so that they can enjoy some relaxing music by using their earphones when taking public transportation, avoiding the noise of traffic and having a rest. Therefore, simply banning cell phones in public areas can deprive people of those benefits, it would be more reasonable if there are some guidelines about proper and polite ways to use mobile phones in public places such as turning off notification sound or lower voice when making a phone call.

In conclusion, although the use of phones may become a distraction to others in public areas, strict prevention may not be a multifaceted solution. I maintain that phones may be beneficial in some cases if they are used properly.