Some people think news has no connection to people's lives. Therefore, it is a waste of time to read the newspaper and watch television news programs. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that news do not represent the real state of the world. Consequently, some people think that it is pointless to read the newspaper and watch news programs. From my perspective, I agree with this statement as news are designed to show the information that matches with the interests of the government that does not reflect the truth in most scenarios and it is better to watch the news from trusted sources.

Nowadays, news are controlled by the government so it is hard to distinguish a truth from a lie. While it depends on the country, for the government it is important to keep high reputation among residents as damaged reputation will lead to changing the leaders. Therefore, the news will match with their interests. For instance, they might describe other countries to have worse economy than theirs. This results in lowering people’s desire to leave their country for more developed ones to increase salary and have a better life. In additon, most of the countries use propaganda in order to rule people’s opinion and it can lower critical thinking

However, It is still important to be aware of the current situation so the best way to observe information would be watching reports of independent journalists. Since they do not have goals to match with the interests of the government, their news might be more accurate. Inaccurate or false information will damage their career and recovering from it is challening and in most cases impossible. Consequently, it is important for them to write true data.

In conclusion, news are in most cases controlled by the government. Therefore, television will not always represent true state as speaking the truth will damage their reputation. In my opinion, people should read posts from independed journalists as their career depends on the truthful information.